READ THIS FIRST

View previous topic View next topic Go down

READ THIS FIRST

Post by Chris Shaffer on Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:48 am

Before we get started, a little introduction/gaming resume for people who don't know me well. My name is Chris Shaffer. I've been role-playing in some form or another for over 20 years. I've been LARPing locally for over a decade. I've played in several games and have either run, co-run, or assisted in running a handful of others. I'm also an occasional freelancer at Onyx Path, having contributed to Mage: The Awakening, Werewolf: The Apocalypse, the upcoming Trinity Universe reboot, as well as other stuff coming down the pike. Not trying to impress anyone but just getting some basic credentials out of the way.

And now we come to some of my rules, guidelines, and expectations. Some of it's going to come across as confrontational and I apologize for that. But running games has been an activity that, while generally wonderful, has also ripped my heart out. So I'd rather lay down the law now than let people run wild and have to clean up the resulting fallout. The next post will have stuff related to character guidelines.

1. This rule is probably the least important but will also be the most strictly enforced. So here we go: USE YOUR REAL NAME AS YOUR FORUM NAME. It doesn't have to be your legal/birth certificate name, but it at least needs to be whatever name you'll be going by out of character when we interact. At the very least, I'm asking for your first name and last initial or vice-versa. It will be easier to communicate on here if we don't have to look at each others' posts and go "Wait, who's that?" Yes, some of us will need to learn each others' names at the game but forcing everyone to decipher a 'net handle that only has meaning to you isn't going to help.